There’s Always A Workaround

text a[Some of my students]

text b [were designing their]

text c[covers for their High Flyer folders]

... when I noticed that they were on a number of free font websites. I thought that I would warn them that while I had no problem with them browsing fonts, they would be unable to download their choice onto the school laptops as they would be locked out by admin privileges on our network. Then I realised that fact was irrelevant - they were using the preview pane to create their own text samples, grabbing them as partial screen grabs and then inserting them into their design. Yet another example of student ingenuity - what I thought was a roadblock just needed a creative workaround.

text d

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “There’s Always A Workaround

  1. Pam Thompson

    I had exactly the same experience with my students at the end of last year when they were creating their slides for graduation. Another example of students teaching us! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Paul Ruth

    Hi,

    I know the experience to. It is a great moment, and shows how human creativity works best when seen through many eyes. education as a process, not only a pattern. Great!

    (www.theneweducationnetwork.com, for the discussion to improve the educational system.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *