I’m Way Behind But So Far Ahead….

It sometimes takes me a while to work my way through the numerous posts from my assembled Bloglines bloggers, but it is worth reading through as many as possible because someone else somewhere will be posting something that strikes a chord in me. Today, it's The Bionic Teacher and his thoughts on his own technological expertise and how that relates to his role and what he reads about others doing all across the edublogosphere.

I read about all the great things people are doing and am amazed by the depth of knowledge that so many people have. I’m amazed by how they are able to put so much into practice. It really impresses me. These are amazing people doing amazing things. How is this a negative? It easy at times to get frustrated and feel I’m not performing up to par. It isn’t too hard to feel inferior at times considering what people are doing. I try to use it as motivation and that works the majority of the time but at others I just shake my head and wonder where people find the time to learn and do all these amazing things. It makes me feel lazy as I haven’t put out a podcast, learned any real programing languages (must learn something), or done any of a number of other things I want to do (seems like I need to come up with some new goals).

I couldn't agree more. I'm in awe of people like John Pederson and D'Arcy Norman who can customise and put together fantastic blogs with all of the bells and whistles. I want to get blogs in my classroom like Anne Davis and Bud Hunt but I'm unsure of where to start and to make sure that all the bases are covered. I would love to have the confidence and the tech-savviness of Steve Dembo and Paul Allison with their podcasting. The great thing is that of these educators are prepared to share their talents with the rest of us edtech pretenders. But to put things into perspective, this time last year I didn't even understand fully what a blog was and then in August, the whole world opened up. And as The Bionic Teacher is aware, there is still a huge percentage of educators for whom this world, this social software Web 2.0 Read/Write world still is unknown or simply not yet relevant.

Update: James informs me via e-mail that bells'n'whistles for edublogs are on their way. That will be very cool.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 thoughts on “I’m Way Behind But So Far Ahead….

  1. Bud Hunt

    We’re all pretenders, in some sense — we’re exploring and fiddling and tinkering and coming up with the tools that we need when we need them, and not when they’re handed to us. I just debugged my MediaWiki (http://www.budtheteacher.com/wiki) by using Google and someone’s advice for how to fix the specific problem I was having. I borrowed the lines of PHP code that he offered and went to town fixing the problem.
    The great thing, as you mention, is how much information is out there for all of us to use when we need it. The blogging opened the tech world for me, too. And I just keep falling down the rabbithole.

  2. Bronwyn G

    Dear Mr Wegner,

    Bells? Whistles? Edublogs? Can’t wait. Hope they are in time for the new academic year.

    Hope you get to learn lots of new things.

  3. Graham Wegner

    What’s with the Mr. Wegner stuff, Bronwyn? I think that title was reserved for my class!! Thanks Bud for your comments – I will be hitting your site for more info re: classroom blogging as I start our new school year.

Comments are closed.